Nora Ephron–journalist, writer, essayist, screen writer and movie director–died yesterday at the age of 71.  (You can read about her in today’s New York Times.) If you are a movie goer, you’ll know her for “Silkwood,” “When Harry met Sally,” “Sleepless in Seattle,” “You’ve Got Mail,” and my personal favorite “Julie and Julia.”  She wrote many books of essays inclduing “I Feel Bad About My Neck,” which gave us all a perspective on being an older woman.  Nora was smart, she was funny and she was a great champion for women’s rights.  Until my DVR malfunctioned and had to be replaced, I had “Julie and Julia” on permanent save.  Guess I’ll have to keep an eye out for it and record it again; it’s a great movie to watch while cooking.  To see Julia Childs (played brilliantly by Meryl Streep) go from a fumbling amateur to a brilliant chef reminds me that in the kitchen doing something again and again is the only way to make it come naturally.

