In my house, chiles rellenos were almost always made as a casserole.  Canned green chiles were layered with jack cheese and then a mixture of beaten eggs and a little flour was poured on top.  It was all baked and then served in wedges with salsa on top.  Well, Sunday evening I made real chiles rellenos and the work involved made me understand why my mother went the easy route.  I started with raw pasilla peppers that I charred over the gas burner, then peeled and seeded.  The filling was a picadillo made with ground pork, raisins, Kalamata olives, pistachios, chopped fresh fig, garlic, vinegar, cinnamon and cloves bound together with some salsa roja from the market.  We had leftover Oaxacan string cheese so that went inside too and then they were dipped in a batter of beaten egg whites, egg yolks and some flour.  Although you can see some of the browned batter slipped off, they were really good tasting.  Next time I will look for smaller peppers, but aside from that, this is a dish I will make again.

