So I went into the frig and found a bag of small zucchini that got lost in the shuffle.  Of course, I couldn’t just toss out a dollar or two of squash, I had to make something.  When I checked all the zucchini quick bread recipes, I was amazed by the large amounts of oil they included–3/4 of a cup in the one I liked.  So I decided to fool with the non-fat substitutes that are supposed to work.  I had a leftover yam so I cooked that and put in it the food processor along with some very soft prunes, half a cup of fat-free Greek yogurt and 2 eggs, adding a quarter cup of olive oil for some fat along with 2 t. each of cinnamon, baking soda and vanilla, 1/2 c each of white and brown sugar plus a large pinch of salt for flavor.  Three cups of shredded zucchini plus two carrots (first time I’ve used the shredding blade in my Cuisnart), 3 cups of flour, a cup each of raisins and walnuts all thoroughly mixed together.  Put into muffins tins at 325 degrees for 20 minutes until done in the middle.  Not sweet, not savory but damn good and healthy compared to the traditional but they are so ugly I won’t post a picture. I am not known for my baking and I used mini-muffin tins which give a much smaller cake…but they are good and moist.

