When I got married more than 30 years ago, it was a simple afternoon ceremony at my parents’ townhouse in La Jolla.  And the food was even simpler–potato salad and cold cuts. Looking at the photographs, I’m somewhat embarrassed to see the platters included sliced American cheese and too many radish roses, but there was a lovely carrot cake made by a friend of my parents.  It had white frosting topped with an icing bouquet of tiger lilies which matched my own. That was my nod to Rhode Island, where those simple orange flowers grow everywhere, from well-tended perennial gardens to patches of dirty on the side of the road.   After the reception, we spent the night at Hotel La Valencia and then headed off to wine country before turning the car east for a cross country trip back to Rhode Island.

