In the past year I first read and then more recently listened to “My Life in France” which was written by Julia’s nephew after her death based upon her and her husband Paul’s letters to each other and others as well as at least one other bio of Julia.  So when I picked up “Dearie” from the Escondido Public Library (It is a new bio that I had planned on reserving but there it was when I walked in on Saturday!) I expected to learning nothing particularly new and there were many “famous” occasions that I already knew word for word.  But I was amazed at what a hard worker Julia was almost through her 80s, traveling, cooking and working on new projects.  It is interesting to read that she was someone who never apologized for a cooking mistake, always looked forward and almost never looked back.  We had a friend for dinner tonight and I said I’d always been kind of lazy and my husband said “Not lazy, just not ambitious.”  So Julia was ambitious and since her career didn’t truly start until she was 50, she had to make up for lost time and she worked tirelessly even as physical ailments took their toll.  Two days short of her 92nd birthday she chose not to go through extensive medical treatments that might extend a failing body but continue to leave her with an inability to taste food.  She died a day later, something she always referred to as “slipping off the raft.” She was amazing for all she accomplished at a time that women were meant to stay in the home kitchen and a woman of her “advanced” age would rarely be considered a “star.”  Good work Julia.

