I’ll be making a Salade Nicoise for dinner tomorrow night, so thought I’d get some of the prep work done today.  I’m making it by “the book” meaning “Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Volume One” and her directions couldn’t be clearer. Once I started to check on whether I had everything I would need, I decided to compose a bowl of almost all the ingredients–the salad greens and parsley are tucked away in the frig and will come out when I make the salad tomorrow.  So here’s a look a the main ingredients and where they came from.  Green beans and tomatoes–got them at the Farmers’ Market on Tuesday. Dry cured olives, garlic and capers–Major Market.  Tuna in olive oil, anchovies, cage-free eggs and olive oil–Trader Joe’s.  Organic Yukon gold potatoes–Jimbo’s.  I’ll blanch and dress the green beans in a garlicky vinaigrette from the book and let them marinate overnight.  Everything else will be done on Friday, and served in the oval white bowl the ingredients are nestled in.  With a loaf of my husband’s bread, I have no doubt it will give us a “bon appetit.”

