If I could pick four words to describe the salad, they would be “needs more olive oil.”  It is hard when you aren’t following exact amounts of lettuce, potatoes, beans and tomatoes to be sure everything is being dressed properly and as I look at Julia’s recipe I realize she has solved that by breaking it down into parts, so the potatoes have their own recipe “French Potato Salad,” as does the vinaigrette.  I obviously didn’t make enough to portion it out properly among the different ingredients.  But all in all, it was a very nice dish with toast made from our own bread that was rubbed with fresh garlic and drizzled with olive oil.  I find I’m liking the flavor of capers more each time I have them and would have liked some squeezes of Meyer lemon but the fruit on our tree is still green.  The best part was Julia’s hard boiled eggs–put in cold water with an inch of water above the eggs, bring to boil, take off heat and let sit for 17 minutes then put in ice water.  The yolk was still orange and had not turned that pale yellow we are so used to with standard hard boiled eggs–and of course none of that olive green ring that is the sign of a badly overcooked egg.  The flavor was light, delicate and rich at the same time, so will remember Julia’s technique for future hard boiled eggs.

