I absolutely love rain.  A torrential summer shower filled with thunder and lightening, especially if you can be sitting somewhere under a tin roof, is exhilarating.  A steady rain that gives the autumn garden a well-needed soaking is always appreciated.  But my true favorite is a cool weekend with at least a drizzle where you have nowhere to go and nothing to do, so I can hang around in leggings and a sweater, perusing cookbooks for inspiration.  Of course, supplies will be needed, but I’m lucky to have a husband who likes to head out to the store in almost any weather (heavy snow, no so much, but we’ve left that behind) so that’s not an obstacle.

My favorite dishes are braised meats, complicated pasta sauces and variations on minestrone.  What they all require is lots of chopping, slicing and dicing which gives me the chance to bring out my huge cutting board and get everything ready at once.  Along side the board is a big stainless steel bowl that holds all the bits that will end up being tossed out–meat wrappers, carrot peels, vegetables trimmings.

I see it will be coolish for the next few days so I’m planning a big pot of minestrone, flavored with the Parmigiano Reggiano rind stock that I made last week.  More on that this week

